August 23, 2009

I’m a self-taught photographer living in Dhaka, Bangladesh. I love shooting people and I shoot what I like. I prefer natural light source and natural elements in my subjects. My favorite color is black. Old vintage black & white photography attracts me a lot. Monet’s ‘Impression Sunrise’ and Michelangelo’s ‘Pietà’ are two works of art that I find very captivating.

Bangladesh is a heaven for photography. You will find a diversity of subjects packed in a small area. It’s easy to run out of memory cards than subjects. Best part of Bangladesh is, no one minds getting their picture taken. People are friendly in front of the camera no matter who they are and what situation they are in. But discovering Bangladesh is a challenge rather than a pleasure trip.

-SHABBIR FERDOUS, 2009

All photographs are copyright of SHABBIR FERDOUS.
Accompanying text provided by photographer. 
His photographs are available for purchase at gettyimages.
To view more of SHABBIR FERDOUS’ photographs, visit his Flickr Photostream here.

This image was inspired by Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6 in F major. It’s known as the Pastoral Symphony and was completed in 1808. One of Beethoven’s few works of program music, the symphony was labeled at its first performance with the title “Recollections of Country Life”.

GPS coordinate for this picture is 24°58’1.50″N, 91° 7’49.90″E

Tangor Hawor is a place where its gets flooded during monsoon creating a huge lake formation. Its size is enormous and makes interesting landscape since its floods. You will see trees standing middle of ocean like lake or electric poles … or a figure of a bridge or tiny island of houses. Communication is only possible by boats and people enjoy fishing at this time. After the rainy season, water level drops and people do agriculture on the fertile land turning this massive area into a green agro zone.

About this picture, we were camped in a small island; there was a tiny bazaar (market) there. It was very hot, there wasn’t any wind, I was sitting near the lake side and listening to music. I saw these people fishing. Their net was extended and covered a huge area. They were fairly close to me and it wasn’t possible to shoot them without wide angle lens. Presence of me also attracted a crowd, they all wanted to be photographed.

It took them an hour to close the net by slowly pulling it. The guy in the water was making sure the net closes properly. They were so concentrated at their work that they forgot about the rest of the world. The fading sun came out one last time for the day and I took this picture with the music of Beethoven in my headphone.

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: Tangor Hawor, Sylhet, Bangladesh
 

Under the beautiful sky…. old shot from my Tangor Hawor series.

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: Tangor Hawor, Sylhet, Bangladesh 

Shifting DUNES….. imagine there were people to takeaway our memories.

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: Sunamganj, Sylhet, Bangladesh

There weren’t any tall trees for miles, only those three standing in grand
style. The cows are chilling nearby and faraway you can see the Indian
mountains. I saw this in the riverside from my boat. This is a single raw
file HDR with 4 different textures.

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: Tangor Hawor, Sylhet, Bangladesh 

Beach ANGEL  – she was saying “you can’t shoot me, I am running away”. We all laughed as she ran passed in front of me. Original picture came out tad dark as the sun was behind her, so in the preview she was a dark figure. She said I have a bad camera which made her look even darker. We all laughed again.

She had the most beautiful smile ever; any toothpaste company can hire her as their model without any need of digital enhancement in post process.

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: St.Martin Island, Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf peninsula, Bangladesh 

Beach BOYS – they came to me and asked if I could take a picture of them. I didn’t have to ask them to be informal while posing, they animated themselves into one of the best smiles ever. I couldn’t ask for more. I promised them when I come back again (most certainly I will), I will give them a copy. They showed me where they lived, the island is small and, hopefully, it won’t be a problem to find them again.

I asked them what they want to be when they grow up, one of the little one replied he wants to be a photographer just like me!

Lens: EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: St.Martin Island, Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf peninsula, Bangladesh 

A Brand NEW DAY – it’s the only coral island in Bangladesh and this is the last end of the south-east corner of Bangladesh.

It was my first time in that island and it impressed me with blue colour. The day was sunny and warm; the beach water felt very soothing if you decided for a dip. I was hanging around the dock area in the afternoon and was surrounded by curious kids. It was an awesome day for photography and one of my favorite ways of time pass which is taking portraits.

The island is tiny and lacks most modern items; it will give you a feel of a ship wrecked island.

Lens: EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: St.Martin Island, Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf peninsula, Bangladesh 

The JUMPING CANVAS – don’t feel depressed, these boys are still having fun even though they are dead poor compared to you and me. Celebrate life like there is no tomorrow.

Lens: EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: St.Martin Island, Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf peninsula, Bangladesh 

BANGLA NEW YEAR 1416 – another year has passed and this is 1416 in Bangla calendar. This year I have celebrated it in Paril Village in Manikgonj instead of Dhaka. In the capital city, Bangla New Year is observed with great festivity and enthusiasm along with rest of the country. Apart from the very hot summer day, everything went perfectly planned.

Two days long activities started with releasing Fanush (Lantern Balloon) the last night of year 1415 and welcoming the new year of 1416 wishing for peace, prosperity and unity among the people of the world.

Lens: EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Location: Paril Village, Manikganj, Bangladesh  

A Mro tribal woman from the remotest part of Bandarbans showing me her tongue instead of her smile when my translator asked her. Her son was so shy in front of me that his mom couldn’t take his hand off from his face for a picture. They are very amazing people with a friendly smile.

Lens: EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Location: Bompara Tribal Village, Bandarbans, Chittagong Hill Tracts, Bangladesh  

The HOUSE I really belong too…. a tiny island and an outpost of heaven.

Lens: EF-S17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Filter: B+W 67mm Top Polarizer (Linear) (MRC) Multi-Resistant Coating Glass Filter
Camera: Canon EOS 40D
Location: Rangamati, Chittagong Hill Tracts, Bangladesh 

 WALK OF LIFE – we are just a moment in time, a blink of an eye… a dream for the blind.

Lens: EF-S17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Camera: Canon EOS 40D
Location: Rangamati, Chittagong Hill Tracts, Bangladesh

 

**

CREDITS
images: all photographs are copyright of SHABBIR FERDOUS. His photographs are available for purchase at gettyimages.
graphic design & layout: Labiba Ali for creativeBangladesh.

Leave a Reply

