June 2, 2009

[image credits: all images are from INHABITAT.com]

Many of you may have already seen this, but I still wanted to post it since it is a living statement of the possibilities of Bangladeshi mud architecture. This school in Rudrapur [in Northern Bangladesh, close to Dinajpur] is literally a big mud house. It has two main ingredients: mud and bamboo. And, it is completely hand-built!
 
The best thing about building in mud is that it is sustainable and perfect for the Bangladeshi climate. It stays cool in the summer and warm in winter. I will post a more in-depth article on mud architecture later this summer, so stay tuned for that. Meanwhile, feast your eyes on these photographs of the school. I especially liked the interplay of bamboo, mud and metal sheets [three basic Bangladeshi building materials] in photograph #4 and the laughing kids in photograph #5 [they look so happy!]. I wish my school had looked anything like this; I definitely would never have missed a class. As a matter of fact, I think I would never have left!
 
*The METI School [Modern Education & Training Institute] received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture  in 2007, among other awards. For more information on how this school was built and the philosophy behind METI School [which follows a Montessori-like curriculum], visit here and, the school’s very own website, here.

**A video presentation of the school follows right after the photographs.

 

*

5 Responses to “”

  1. Nevine Says:

    Wow! I am completely blown away by this school. I must go see it when I travel to Bangladesh next. Thank you for sharing!


  2. Amazing pictures–especially the one of the boys playing. I echo the thanks for sharing!

  3. grace mudada Says:

    the are so cute

  4. grace mudada Says:

    l’m so amazed they are so gourgers
    xx:)

  5. huulhaal Says:

    Incredible!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

